To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login.
Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"
Keywords and Database Searching
This database is a great place to start your research when you are looking for various perspectives on a topic.
Use these databases to find articles in scholarly journals. For Academic Search Complete and ProQuest, check the Peer Reviewed or Scholarly Journal box to limit your search to scholarly journals only. We suggest limiting your results to full text, as well.
If your research assignment requires you to write about a current social or controversial issue, these databases may help:
Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000