Skip to main content

ENG 152: Edgar Allan Poe: Finding Articles and More

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Research Tip: What's in the Article Databases?

Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:

Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a VERY HIGH QUALITY SOURCE. You can limit your search to just journal articles by checking the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal box on the search screen.

Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are geared more to the general public--not as high quality as journal articles, but may be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evalauation Rubric under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.

Some databases, especially those geared to a particular topic such as Literary Reference Center, contain periodical articles as well as articles from reference books.

Literature Analysis Papers

If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, the following databases are a good place to start.

New Yorker Article on Poe

In honor of the 200th anniversary (2009) of the birth of Edgar Allan Poe, two new collections of gothic tales, a brief biography by Peter Ackroyd and more:

Link to Article

LePore, Jill. "The Humbug: Edgar Allan Poe and the economy of horror. The New Yorker April 27, 2009. Web. 16 March 2015.

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)

Portrait

Edgar Allan Poe portrait