Skip to main content

Education Research Guide: Finding Articles & More

Resource guide for researching education-related topics, including early childhood education.

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Good Starting Point

EBSCO provides a number of databases that are good starting points for in-depth, full-text articles on education-related topics. The search box below will cross-search Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and PsycARTICLES for you.

Make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms). Check out the YouTube video for a quick tutorial on Boolean operators.

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Chronicle of Higher Education

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

Suggested Databases

Education Journals