Skip to main content

ENG 275/251: Women's Literature: Finding Articles & More

Herstography Project

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

General Information Databases

For more general information, the following databases offer full-text articles covering a wide range of topics. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term). 

Research Tips

If you haven't had database searching instruction in ENG 152 or want a refresher, this link to our Information Literacy Tutorial may be of help.  Try especially the Search Strategies tab on the Tutorial.  Feel free to come see a Reference Librarian if you need more help.

History Databases

Articles on Controversial & Societal Issues

Word Cloud

 

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

General Article Databases

Databases of articles in journals, magazines and newspapers.  To limit your search to scholarly articles, check the scholarly journal or peer reviewed box on the search page.  To limit your search to full-text articles, check the Full Text box on the search page.

Literary Analysis

If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, start here.

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Reference Databases

Articles from full-text electronic reference books.

E-Books

Here are a few examples of the types of e-books you can find in the Reference Databases listed above: