Skip to main content

Integrating Library Resources into Teaching and Learning: Persistent Links

Tips and tricks for using library resources in your courses, including reserves, persistent links, video, images, and more.

Persistent Links

Persistent links are links that remain functional over an extended period of time. They can be used to link directly to a specific resource, such as an article within a database. From on campus, the link will take you directly to the resource.  From off-campus you will be asked to log in using your myMCC login.

Persistent links have two parts:

  • The proxy prefix (for MCC it is http://sirsi.mchenry.edu:2048/login?url=)
  • The persistent URL provided by the database

For example, a link to an article in Academic Search Complete would look like this:

http://sirsi.mchenry.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=121879788&site=ehost-live&scope=site

When you are using a library database, don't copy the link in the address bar. Look for the supplied persistent link within the database record. You can also copy a link from the A-Z Database List (reproduced to the right for convenience) if you'd like to link to a resource's home page.

Databases may refer to the persistent links by different terms.  You may need to look for a permalink, bookmark, or document URL.

If you need help, just ask a librarian.

A to Z Databases

To access any database in this column off campus, you will need your myMCC LOGIN. Your myMCC login username and password is available on www.mchenry.edu/myMCC, by clicking on the link "What's my username or password?"