Skip to main content

ENG 152/PHI 251: Middle Earth: Finding Articles & More

Morals & Malice in Middle Earth: A Hobbit's Journey Through Good & Evil

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Possible keywords and search terms. Can you think of others?

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Tolkien Database / Finding Aid to Wheaton Collection

Article Databases

You can find full-text articles covering a wide range of topics in the databases below. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term).The videos on this page suggest tips for entering terms in the databases.

Literary Analysis Resources

If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, START HERE to search for scholarly articles.

Research Tip: What's in the Article Databases?

Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:

Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a VERY HIGH QUALITY SOURCE. You can limit your search to just journal articles by checking the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal box on the search screen.

Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are geared more to the general public--not as high quality as journal articles, but may be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evalauation Rubric under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.

Trade or Professional Articles are intended for professionals and others engaged in specific professions or trades.  These periodical articles may include "how tos" and on the job articles as well as notices of conferences and meetings and advertisements and articles about equipment, supplies, coursework and seminars all related to a field or trade.

Some databases, especially those geared to a particular topic such as Literary Reference Center, contain periodical articles as well as articles from reference books.

Articles

NOTE: Certain features needed for proper citaion (MLA) are not available in this research guide, so please note that the MLA citation is approximate.  Refer to the Citing Sources tab for more guidance.