Skip to main content

Career Development Research Guide: Finding Articles & More

A research guide that covers the career development process, from career exploration to job hunting and interview resources.

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on "Password Reset/Find Username."  

Good Starting Point

A good starting point for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on business and career-related topics is searching some of the EBSCO databases. The search box below is set up to search Academic Search Premier and the EBSCO business databases. When searching in our databases, make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms). Check out the YouTube video below for a quick tutorial on Boolean operators.

Another good article database for career development research is Academic OneFile.

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Career Development Databases

Off campus access requires your network ID, the same login you use in the computer labs and the classroom.

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)