Skip to main content

Theater: Finding Articles & More

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Article Databases

When you need to do research beyond the starting points above, you can find full-text articles covering a wide range of topics below. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term). The Youtube video to your right illustrates Boolean searching.

Research Tip: What's in the Article Databases?

Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:

Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a  very high quality source. You can limit your search to just journal articles by checking the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal box on the search screen. Also limit your results to full text for immediate access to the complete article (rather than just the abstract).

Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are geared more to the general public. These are not as high quality as journal articles because they are not subject to review by experts in the subject field, but they may still be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evaluation Rubric (SCARAB) under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.

Some databases, especially those geared to a particular topic such as Literary Reference Center, contain periodical articles as well as articles from reference books.

Research Tip: How to Search a Database

Starting Points: Analysis Papers on Authors, Dramatic Works

The following databases are a good starting point for research assignments that require you to write about literary or dramatic criticism, history, or themes.

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)