With classes and campus services moving online, you might be feeling far removed from many of the in-person library resources you relied on.
Wherever your place is right now...
the MCC Library is here to help you.
Keep scrolling to learn about our expanded services and resources to help you finish your semester strong.
Expanded reference hours
Virtual reference appointments
Increased selection of databases
Quick Start Guide
Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on
Fall 2020 Semester Hours:
The MCC Library will be open to currently enrolled MCC students only until further notice.
Monday through Thursday:
8:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, September 7 -- Labor Day
Tuesday, November 3 -- Election Day
Wednesday-Friday, November 25-27 -- Thanksgiving Recess
The library is now open on weekends - Saturdays and Sundays from 9 am - 2 pm.
Have a question? Send us a chat using our Ask a Librarian service. Click HERE to send us a message. Staff will get back to you right away! You can also send an email with your questions to: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Virtual Reference Appointments
Click HERE to visit our Library Quick Start Guide and to schedule a virtual 30-minute research appointment.
Access to More Information
Database providers understand the need for expanded access to information during this time. We've worked with them to increase the number of databases - and information - available to you while you're off campus and completing assignments.
You now have access to the following databases:
Find our full list of over 110 databases HERE.
Quick Start Guide
Our librarians created this new guide to help you directly access some of the Library's most common resources to help you complete assignments.
The guide contains:
Our librarians created a short, helpful video with information on:
Librarians and library staff are your best resource. Get to know us!
Cynthia Wolf, Executive Director of the Library: Cynthia heads up the library in addition to her full-time job teaching English here at MCC, where she teaches composition and literature classes. She's an Anglophile who loves books, research, and helping people who's never met a Jane Austen novel she didn't like.
Elizabeth Nelson, Cataloging & Collection Development Librarian; Library Department Chair: Elizabeth selects all of the books and electronic resources for the library. She also does information literacy sessions for ENG, BUS, HCE, and MCC 101 classes.
Roger Morales, Reference Librarian: Roger teaches library information literacy sessions for MCC 101, ENG 151, and ENG 152. He likes to teach students about research and help them access educational materials.
Mary Byrne, Part-time Reference Librarian: Mary teaches sections of MCC 101 and enjoys helping students develop research and information literacy skills which will help them in college and beyond.
Amy Faubl, Part-time Reference Librarian: Amy is happy to help students with all their research needs, but if you ask her a literature question, she will be super excited. She likes to create online content to help students gain essential information literacy skills. If you need a break from schoolwork, ask her to recommend a book to read, she can talk books all day!
Seth Herchenbach, Part-time Reference Librarian: Seth has worked nights at the MCC Library for the past six years and enjoys helping students with their research, especially history.
Ashley Mercuri, Part-time Reference Librarian: Ashley curates the MCC Archives and, if you see her in the Library, she is usually the one surrounded by old photographs. She also teaches Information Literacy Sessions for MCC101 and ENG151.
Kim Tipton, Part-time Reference Librarian: Kim loves the detective work of research and enjoys helping students one-on-one with their papers. She teaches library Information Literacy sessions for MCC 101, ENG 151, and ENG 152. She always keeps the MCC 101 lollipop basket stocked with Blue Raspberry,
Amanda McManaman, Full-time Administrative Assistant I, Library: Amanda provides clerical support for the library along with technical services support and works at the circulation desk. She likes cataloging new items for the library and helping patrons at the circulation desk.
Melinda Aivaliotis, Full-time Circulation Assistant: Melinda acts as a guide to help patrons decipher those weird looking Library of Congress call numbers. When not getting lost in the stacks, she can be found at the Circulation Desk making sure students have access to course textbooks, troubleshooting wireless printing, and issuing library cards.
Scott Lindsey, Part-time Circulation Assistant: Scott performs customary circulation duties. He especially enjoys helping students and patrons learn to find materials in the catalog and then locate them on the shelves.