Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
General Article Databases
These databases cover a wide range of topics, including bioethics.
Search EBSCOhost Databases
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals
Health Source Nursing/Academic (EBSCO)
Full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Access nursing and allied health journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, and more. Full-text is available in most cases.
Full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains little full-text.
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text articles from consumer-oriented publications
Health Source Consumer (EBSCO)
Health information from popular magazines
Gale in Context: Science
Periodical and reference articles on science topics
OT Search is not a full-text database. Use it to identify sources in the field of occupational therapy. Use the Journal List from the library web page or ask a librarian to assist in determining the full-text availablity of the document.
Philosophy Reference Databases
Full-text content covers a variety of topics from major reference publishers
Oxford Handbooks Online: Religion
Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in particular subject areas. Essays are written by leading figures in the discipline, giving critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as foundations for future research. The religion area of OHO provides new essays on critical topics and emerging issues.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in particular subject areas. Essays are written by leading figures in the discipline, giving critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as foundations for future research. The philosophy area of OHO provides new essays on critical topics and emerging issues.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online resource for researching, teaching and studying philosophy and related disciplines
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia is a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Free web source organizing scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Controversial Issues Databases
Starting Your Research
If your research assignment requires you to write about a current social or controversial issue, the following databases are a good place to start.
Viewpoints on all sides of controversial issues
A good starting point for in-depth, unbiased coverage of current issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.