Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Beyond the Stacks - Pride Month: Library Research

Searching Library Databases

Interested in researching LQBTQ+ topics?

The following is a helpful list of keywords and Subject Terms (and possible research topics!) for searching databases like Academic Search Complete to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles.

Academic Search Complete Subject Terms:

  • LGBTQ+
  • LGBTQ People
  • Transgender
  • Bisexual
  • Asexuality or Asexual people
  • Pansexuality

Try searching those subject terms with other keywords like:

  • actors
  • adoption OR adoptive parents
  • caregivers
  • celebrations
  • clergy
  • clubs
  • college students
  • communities
  • couples
  • crimes
  • culture
  • families
  • family violence
  • films
  • homeless youth
  • immigrants
  • leadership
  • literature
  • medical care
  • mental health
  • neighborhoods
  • newspapers
  • parents
  • religion
  • rights
  • signs and symbols
  • teachers
  • veterans

Other database search terms:

  • Stonewall Riots
  • The Stonewall Inn
  • Pride Month
  • Gay rights movement
  • Equality
  • Gender identity
  • Intersectionality
  • Gender nonconforming people

Suggested Database Articles

The following are MLA citations for just a few of the thousands of full-text scholarly articles available in MCC Library database. The name of the database where the article can be found appears in the citation.

Pitcher, Erich N., et al. “Affirming Policies, Programs, and Supportive Services: Using an Organizational Perspective to Understand LGBTQ+ College Student Success.” Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, vol. 11, no. 2, June 2018, pp. 117–132. PsycArticles, doi:10.1037/dhe0000048.

Golriz, Golshan. “‘I Am Enough’: Why LGBTQ Muslim Groups Resist Mainstreaming.” Sexuality & Culture, vol. 25, no. 2, Apr. 2021, pp. 355–376. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1007/s12119-020-09773-x.

McCormick, Adam, and Stephen Baldridge. “Family Acceptance and Faith: Understanding the Acceptance Processes of Parents of LGBTQ Youth.” Social Work & Christianity, vol. 46, no. 1, Spring 2019, pp. 32–40. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=134549190&authtype=shib&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Samaroo, Aubryn. “Effects of an LGBTQ Identity and Support Systems on Mental Health: A Study of 4 Theories.” Modern Psychological Studies, vol. 22, no. 2, Spring 2017, pp. 20–27. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=130798573&authtype=shib&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Daum, Courtenay W. “Social Equity, Homonormativity, and Equality: An Intersectional Critique of the Administration of Marriage Equality and Opportunities for LGBTQ Social Justice.” Administrative Theory & Praxis (Taylor & Francis Ltd), vol. 42, no. 2, June 2020, pp. 115–132. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1080/10841806.2019.1659044.

Haviland, Kelly S., et al. “Barriers and Facilitators to Cancer Screening Among LGBTQ Individuals With Cancer.” Oncology Nursing Forum, vol. 47, no. 1, Jan. 2020, pp. 44–55. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1188/20.ONF.44-55.

Library Catalog

Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what physical and electronic resources the Library has available. Enter your search below to get started!

Library Resources

For off-campus access to library databases, you may be required to enter your myMCC username and password.