Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Accessibility

Inclusion in the Library: Accessible Resources in the Databases and Beyond

Students have different needs and preferences for how they locate and consume information. This session will look at the variety of formats and perspectives of library materials, as well as some of the features our databases have that address these needs and how we can all help students get the best research experience. 

Elizabeth Nelson

Cataloging & Collection Development Librarian

Library Department Chair

enelson@mchenry.edu

815-455-8775

Kim Tipton

Reference Librarian

ktipton@mchenry.edu

814-455-8762

 

MCC Library Collection

The purpose of the collection of the McHenry County College Library is to support the library’s mission and the academic programs of the College by providing high-quality resources in a variety of formats, including books, periodicals, audiovisual resources, and electronic databases. The library’s collection also serves the research and recreational reading needs of the faculty and staff as well as community users. We strive to maintain a diverse collection that encompasses a variety of voices and perspectives, as well as formats that serve the students and the community.

Like the college, the library is committed to equitable access to materials and services and we strive to provide a
space where all students are welcome and feel they belong. One group of underserved students is our
student-parent population. Creating a new student-parent-centered space in the library allows us to
support these nontraditional students in new and meaningful ways.

Library collection infographic; 37,900 books, more than 115 databases, 104,834 ebooks, 77335 ejournals, 11810 streaming videos

Graphic Novel Collection

The goal of this project is to build a graphic novel collection at the McHenry County College (MCC) Library that reflects the diverse community we serve, exposes students to new ideas,  elevates underrepresented experiences through story-telling, and encourages recreational reading among students, inspiring creativity and leading to lifelong reading habits.

Graphic Novels in the MCC Library Collection

Book display for Pride Month

Monthly book displays aim to welcome everyone to the library by focusing on diversity and inclusion.

LGBTQIA+ Collection in the Catalog