LibGuides: Speech Research Guide: Find Sources

Database Search Strategies

These search strategies can help you in any database you use.

Using the right keywords can affect how relevant your results are. Start with your main ideas, then add or revise using keywords as you encounter new ones.

Example research question: How do cultural values influence communication styles in intercultural interactions?

Main ideas: cultural values, communication styles, intercultural reactions

Search with specific keywords (not questions or long phrases).
Search 2-3 keywords at a time. Each keyword you add will reduce your results.
Use quotation marks around words you want to search as a complete phrase ("communication styles").
Limiters: always use the Full Text limiter. Use the Peer Reviewed limiter if that is the kind of information you need. You can also adjust the date range to get the most current articles.
Number of results: Strive for no more than 200 hundred results. If you have more than that, try revising your search. You want a list of results that is manageable so you can look through them all.

Databases for Speech and Communications Research

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in hundreds of journals. Articles cover all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
For social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection is updated daily.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Credo Reference
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
NewsBank: America's Historical Newspapers
Study significant periods in American history through a timeline-based interface. Complete editions from hundreds of U.S. newspapers provide primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.

Searching Google

Depending on the kind of information you need and your assignment requirements, you may find it helpful to search Google. Many of the database search strategies will also help you search Google more efficiently.

Try these additional search tips for best results:

Search a specific domain (intercultural values site:.gov)
Search a specific site (site:UN.org intercultural communication)
Cross search: Google images, news, Scholar, videos

Examining Your Google Search Results

The top Google results aren't automatically the best ones. Your results are ranked based on what you've clicked on in the past, what you've interacted with, and what you've searched previously. Results also appear near the top because that content has been monetized or because it's an AI summary. It's important to carefully evaluate your search results and make sure they are credible, authoritative, and useful for your information need.