Our databases contain a variety of information formats:
Format refers to how the information is packaged. Within each of those information formats, you'll find popular sources (like magazine articles or news articles) and scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources. Sources refer to the actual articles. Be sure to choose the best format and source type for your information need.
These search strategies can help you in any database you use.
Using the right keywords can affect how relevant your results are. Start with your main ideas, then add or revise using keywords as you encounter new ones.
Example research question: How have national cybersecurity policies impacted democratic processes and election security in the United States since 2016?
Main ideas: cybersecurity, policies, democratic processes, election security, United States
Keywords fall into three main categories: Broad, Narrow, and Related.
Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government
Military and Intelligence provides military personnel with access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. This resource contains content supporting key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, and the structure of armed forces.
World History reaches back to the ancient world-and forward to today's headlines-to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.
World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
War and Terrorism gives researchers valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Study significant periods in American history through a timeline-based interface. Complete editions from hundreds of U.S. newspapers provide primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.