Our databases contain a variety of information formats:
Format refers to how the information is packaged. Within each of those information formats, you'll find popular sources (like magazine articles or news articles) and scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources. Sources refer to the actual articles. Be sure to choose the best format and source type for your information need.
These search strategies can help you in any database you use.
Using the right keywords can affect how relevant your results are. Start with your main ideas, then add or revise using keywords as you encounter new ones.
Example research question: How effective are current meteorological warning systems in reducing casualties during extreme weather events?
Main ideas: meteorological warning systems, casualties, extreme weather events
Keywords fall into three main categories: Broad, Narrow, and Related.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today's environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user's workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools.
Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that that answers inquiries about environmental concerns from diverse perspectives. The database provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference materials covering environmental issues. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Global Issues supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more.
Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Going beyond textbooks and traditional science curriculum, Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources—like Gale In Context: Science and Gale OneFile—is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students in middle school and high school grades. Students can entertain their curiosity and inspire grade improvement through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.