Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Literature Analysis Papers
If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, the following databases are a good place to start.
Single search that brings together all the content in Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, and select books from GVRL.
Literature Criticism Online
A good starting point specifically for literary criticism. A searchable database of the Gale series of literature reference e-books.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A good starting point for any literary assignment. Access criticism, biographies, topic overviews and more.
Scholarly articles. Use your Boolean Operators (AND, OR) for best searching.
Gale Literature: Litfinder
LitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains literature content, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches, plays, biographies, summaries, photographs, and more. Full-text is available in many cases.
General Information Databases
For more general information, the following databases offer full-text articles covering a wide range of topics. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term).
Access to full-text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a wide range of subject areas.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large general database with articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on many topics.
Full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
Access to all of the EBSCO databases, covering a wide range of subject areas. Search within a single database, or cross-search multiple databases.