Skip to main content

ENG 151: Self-driving Cars: Home

ENG 151 Why are we doing this?

INFORMATION LITERACY is one of MCC's four general education goals. Part of Information Literacy is the ability to evaluate information for QUALITY and to select sources that are SUITABLE for the information need! We're here today to help you develop these skills in ENG 151. Following this session (and with some practice), you should be able to: 

  1. Evaluate the quality of a resource using multiple criteria including authority, objectivity, and accuracy.
  2. Judge the suitability of a resource to the information need by assessing  such characteristics as its purpose, scope, intended audience, point of view, timeliness, publication format, and relevance.
  3. Select appropriate search tools to identify and locate information sources for argumentative papers.
  4. Recognize that information issues are becoming increasingly important in our society.
  5. Recognize different information formats, such as journal articles, newspaper articles, blogs, etc.

Format Matters

Self-driving Cars

“6 Things I Learned from Riding in a Google Self-Driving Car.” The Oatmeal, theoatmeal.com/blog/google_self_driving_car.

Directions

 Mock Assignment

You've been asked to write a paper
on the following topic:

Are self-driving cars safer than
person-driven cars?

 

Today we are evaluating several sources to potentially use in writing the above research paper.

Once you've looked at all of the sources on the right, we'll discuss them together to determine if they are quality sources
to use for a college-level research paper.

 

Evaluation Criteria

S.C.A.R.A.B.

S.ubstance

C.urrency

A.uthority

R.elevance

A.ccuracy

B.ias

 

Source #1 - Wikipedia

  1. Go to http://www.wikipedia.org/ and search for self-driving car.
  2. Skim this source. We will use the rubric and evaluate it together as a class.

Source #2 - Database (scholarly article)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases, then A to Z Databases.
  3. Choose the Academic Search Complete database.
  4. Type in the search box, "Who's Driving That Car" AND Roe.
  5. The article Who's Driving That Car?: An Analysis of Regulatory and Potential Liability Frameworks for Driverless Cars by Madeline Roe should come up.
  6. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #3 - Blog/popular

  1. Go to https://ideas.4brad.com/new-evolution-safety-thinking.
  2. Click on the link (in red) to read his full article, Views on safety are evolving.
  3. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #4 - Database (newspaper)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases then click on A to Z Databases.
  3. Click Opposing Viewpoints.
  4. In the search box, search "Google admits driverless crashes."
  5. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #5 - Database (reference eBook)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases, then A to Z Databases.
  3. Choose Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  4. Type in the search box, self-driving vehicles.
  5. An item entitled Autonomous Vehicles should come up.
  6. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #6 - Non-profit organization

  1. Click on: https://www.ucsusa.org/clean-vehicles/how-self-driving-cars-work
  2. Skim the source Self-Driving Cars Explained.
  3. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

MCC Library