Skip to main content

ENG 151: Fitness Trackers: Home

ENG 151 Why are we doing this?

INFORMATION LITERACY is one of MCC's four general education goals. Part of Information Literacy is the ability to evaluate information for QUALITY and to select sources that are SUITABLE for the information need! We're here today to help you develop these skills in ENG 151. Following this session (and with some practice), you should be able to: 

  1. Evaluate the quality of a resource using multiple criteria including authority, objectivity, and accuracy.
  2. Judge the suitability of a resource to the information need by assessing  such characteristics as its purpose, scope, intended audience, point of view, timeliness, publication format, and relevance.
  3. Select appropriate search tools to identify and locate information sources for argumentative papers.
  4. Recognize that information issues are becoming increasingly important in our society.
  5. Recognize different information formats, such as journal articles, newspaper articles, blogs, etc.

Format Matters

Wikipedia is Awesome

Fitness Trackers

 

Source: Scrivan, Maria. “Half Full by Maria Scrivan for July 02, 2016.” GoComics, 2 July 2016, www.gocomics.com/half-full/2016/07/02.

Directions

 Mock Assignment

You've been asked to write a paper
on the following topic:

Does wearing a fitness tracker improve
a person's health?

 

Today we are evaluating several sources to potentially use in writing the above research paper.

Once you've looked at all of the sources on the right, we'll discuss them together to determine if they are quality sources
to use for a college-level research paper.

 

Evaluation Criteria

S.C.A.R.A.B.

S.ubstance

C.urrency

A.uthority

R.elevance

A.ccuracy

B.ias

 

Source #1 - Wikipedia

  1. Go to http://www.wikipedia.org/ and search for activity tracker.
  2. Skim this source. We will use the rubric and evaluate it together as a class.

Source #2 - Database (scholarly article)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases, then A to Z Databases.
  3. Choose the Academic Search Complete database.
  4. Copy the following text and paste it in the search box: Advantages and Limitations of Wearable Activity Trackers AND Walker.
  5. Click on the PDF to access the full text of the article.
  6. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #3 - Blog/Popular

  1. Go to https://www.androidauthority.com/accurate-fitness-trackers-884945/
  2. Skim the source, "Do fitness trackers really work? Probably, but it's not as simple as you think!" then evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #4 - Database (magazine)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases then click on A to Z Databases.
  3. Select the Opposing Viewpoints database.
  4. In the search box, search "Wearable technology personalizes physical fitness."
  5. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #5 - Database (reference eBook)

  1. Go to the Library Webpage
  2. Click on Databases, then A to Z Databases.
  3. Select the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
  4. Type in the search box, Fitness Apps.
  5. Select the source Fitness Apps from the Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness Vol 1, 2nd ed., dated 2017.
  6. Skim the source and evaluate it using the rubric.

Source #6 - Educational institution (newsletter)

  1. Click on: https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/10000-steps-a-day-or-fewer-2019071117305
  2. Skim the source "10,000 steps a day — or fewer?" and evaluate it using the rubric.

MCC Library