Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
The following e-Reference databases are great for gathering background information on your topic. You will need your myMCC login to access them from off-campus.
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
ProQuest Ebook Central
Authoritative ebooks from a variety of publishers
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what the Library has on your topic. Enter your search below to get started!
Information you can use: Call Numbers for your humor topics
In the MCC Library, books are arranged using the Library of Congress Classification system. Books on comedy and humor are found in many locations:
- BF575 .L3 Psychology. Laughter and Humor.
- PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting (Radio and Television)
- PN1993-1999 Motion pictures
- PN2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
- PN6146.5-6231 Literature. Wit and humor
- PS430-PS439 American Literature. Satire. Wit and Humor.
You can also search the catalog by keyword.
- Comedy films
- Comedy--History and Criticism
- Commedia Dell' Arte
- Greek drama (Comedy)--History and criticism.
- Improvisation (Acting)
- Stand-up Comedy
- Wit and humor