Data vs Statistics: How are they different? 
These terms refer to very different types of information, but are often used interchangeably.
Source: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/statistics
For example, if you conduct a survey, the information you collect is data. When you analyze that information and create a pie chart, it becomes statistics.
image source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:World_electricity_generation_by_source_pie_chart.svg
Click on a topic:
General Agriculture Business and Economy Climate, Weather, and the Environment Consumer Crime Demographics Education Employment and Labor Energy Federal Finance Health Illinois Transportation World
data.gov: Repository of the U.S. Government's open data. Provides data from more than 100 agencies.
Pew Research Center: Nonpartisan source of data and statistics about world issues, attitudes and trends.
Agriculture - Data Catalog: Agriculture data from Data.gov.
Illinois Agricultural Statistics Service: Agricultural statistics for Illinois. Includes information on crops, livestock, and Illinois agricultural economy.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service: Trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America. Provides reports, data, charts, and maps. TIP: Use the Data Products drop-down menu to locate agricultural data by topic.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service: Charts and maps of crops and livestock in the United States, as well as agriculture economics and the Census of Agriculture.
Illinois Economy at a Glance: Data specific to the state's workforce and economy. Also provides data for major metropolitan areas throughout the state.
Bureau of Economic Analysis: Data about the nation's economy, including U.S. gross domestic product (GDP). Provides state and local numbers, as well as foreign trade and investment stats and industry data.
Manufacturing: Data, tools, apps and research related to new technologies, facilities, and research. From Data.gov.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses: Data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. TIP: Use the Find a Code drop-down menu to search for NAICS codes. From Census.gov.
Climate, Weather, and the Environment
Climate Data Online: Global weather data. TIP: Discover data by using their search tool or mapping tool. From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
Climate Data Catalog: Climate data from Data.gov.
Climate Explorer: Graphs and maps of historical and projected climate variables for any county in the U.S.
Climate Maps: Easy-to-understand climate maps. See average monthly temperature, monthly temperature outlook, and more. From Climate.gov.
National Weather Service Forecast Office (Illinois office): Local climate data, studies, graphs, rainfall maps, and climate summaries for area cities.
Statistical Weather and Climate Statistics: Climate information generated from examination of the data in the archives, including record temperatures, record precipitation and snowfall, climate extremes statistics, and other derived climate products. From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit - Information and tools on climate risks. TIP: Click Use the Climate Explorer to generate interactive graphs and maps showing climate projections and observations for any county in the contiguous United States. From Data.gov.
UNSD Environmental Indicators: Air and climate data and statistics complied by the United Nations Statistics Division.
Consumer Data Catalog: Consumer data from Data.gov.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys: Data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. From Census.gov.
Consumer Price Index (CPI): Average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services.TIP: Click the Browse CPI Data drop-down menu for interactive charts, research, and the latest numbers. From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Consumer Spending: Value of the goods and services purchased by, or on the behalf of, U.S. residents. BEA publishes annual, quarterly, and monthly estimates of consumer spending. TIP: Click on Interactive Data annual, quarterly, and monthly data. From the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
FBI Crime Data Explorer: Crime by location and data set.
Illinois State Police Uniform Crime Reports: Listing of annual crime reports and databases. Organized by year.
McHenry County, IL, Sheriff's Office Crime Map: Map of McHenry County searchable by type of crime, location, crime date, crime time, and day of week.
Public Safety: Data on crime, roadway safety, workplace safety, and more. From Data.gov.
Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics: Statistics on violent crime and property crime. Allows users to build their own customized data tables. From the FBI and the U.S. Department of Justice. (For statistics by state, click here.)
Census Reporter: Facts and statistics about a specific area of the United States.
Census.gov - Illinois Quick Facts: Census data specific to Illinois.
United States Census Bureau: Data about the people and economy of the United States.
Annual Survey of School System Finances: Education finance data include revenues, expenditures, debt, and assets [cash and security holdings] of elementary and secondary public school systems. Statistics cover school systems in all states, and include the District of Columbia.
Education Data Catalog: Includes data on the Federal Student Loan Program, school surveys on crime and safety, and more. From Data.gov.
Illinois State Board of Education: Data Reporting and Collections information for the state of Illinois.
National Center for Education Statistics: Collects and analyzes education data the United States and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences.
U.S. Department of Education: Data and statistics on education issues in the United States.
Business Employment Dynamics: Quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward. These data help to provide a picture of the dynamic state of the labor market. From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Illinois Economy at a Glance: Data specific to the state's workforce and economy. Also provides data for major metropolitan areas throughout the state.
Illinois Department of Employment Security: Labor market information, data, and statistics.
McHenry County Labor Report: By the Numbers 2019, McHenry County's quarterly labor report.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Forecasts career information, including number of jobs and median salary. Browse occupations. From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the U.S. economy. Use their Regional Homepages tool to see labor-related news for a specific state.
Illinois Energy: Energy statistics for the state of Illinois. TIP: Click the Change State/Territory drop-down menu to see energy statistics for other states. From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
International Energy Statistics: Search by type of energy or select a country or region. From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
United Nations Energy Statistics: Annual and monthly energy statistics. From the United Nations Statistics Division.
U.S. Energy Information Administration: Data and resources on key energy topics like alternative fuels, green buildings, efficiency, and managing energy in homes. From Data.gov.
U.S. Total Energy Statistics: Data and statistics on U.S. energy. TIP: Click on Consumption & Production to see how the U.S. uses a mix of energy sources. From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
World Energy Statistics 2019: World energy statistics on all energy sources – coal, gas, oil, electricity, renewables and waste. TIP: Use the Analysis drop-down menu to search by energy topic. Use the Data drop-down menu for their Data Browser, and Data Tables on specific types of energy. From the International Energy Agency.
Data.gov: Repository of the U.S. Government's open data. Provides data from more than 100 agencies.
USA.gov - Statistics: Data and statistics about the United States. Provides census results.
Science and Research: Public science and research data from across the federal government. From Data.gov.
Federal Reserve Board - Data: Data on bank assets and liabilities, exchange rates and international data, household finance, and more.
Finance - Data sets on financial services, including banking, lending, retirement, investments, and insurance. From Data.gov.
Financial Report of the United States: Comprehensive view of the federal government's finances, such as its financial position and condition, revenues and costs, assets and liabilities, and other obligations and commitments. The Financial Report also discusses important financial issues and significant conditions that may affect future operations, including the need to achieve fiscal sustainability over the medium and long term. From the U.S. Department of the Treasury.
Government Finance Statistics: Includes revenues, spending, debt, and assets. Topics include quarterly survey of public pensions, summary of state and local taxes, and public school system finances. From Census.gov.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention: The nation's health protection agency. Browse CDC data and statistics by topic.
Health: Datasets, tools, and applications related to health and health care. From Data.gov.
Illinois Department of Public Health Vital Statistics: State agency that records vital record events for the state of Illinois.
National Center for Health Statistics: Population survey data and access to vital records. From the CDC.
National Institute of Mental Health: Statistics on a comprehensive list of mental health topics.
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit - Health: Data on the impact of climate on human health. From Data.gov.
Illinois Energy: Energy statistics for the state of Illinois. TIP: Click the Change State/Territory drop-down menu to see energy statistics for other states. From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
Illinois Economy at a Glance: Data specific to the state's workforce and economy. Also provides data for major metropolitan areas throughout the state.
Illinois Agricultural Statistics Service: Provides agricultural statistics for Illinois. Includes information on crops, livestock, and Illinois agricultural economy.
Illinois Department of Public Health Vital Statistics: State agency that records vital record events for the state of Illinois.
Illinois Department of Transportation - Illinois Roadway Crash Data: Provides data on traffic accidents for the state of Illinois.
Illinois State Police Uniform Crime Reports: Listing of annual crime reports and databases. Organized by year.
McHenry County, IL, Sheriff's Office Crime Map: Map of McHenry County searchable by type of crime, location, crime date, crime time, and day of week.
National Weather Service Forecast Office (Illinois office): Browse local climate data, studies, graphs, rainfall maps, and climate summaries for area cities.
Quick Facts: Illinois: Census data specific to Illinois. TIP: Use the All Topics drop-down menu to search for census data on population, health, economy, geography, and more.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics: Statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight activity, and transportation economics. TIP: Use the Statistical Products and Data drop-down menu for specific data like Passenger Travel Facts and Figures, Transportation Economic Trends, and more. From the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Illinois Department of Transportation - Illinois Roadway Crash Data: Data on traffic accidents for the state of Illinois.
CIA World Factbook: Global information on 267 world entities. Includes information on government, people, transportation, economy, and more.
United Nations Statistics Division: Global statistics compiled by the United Nations. TIP: Use the Topics and Data drop-down boxes for specific information.
World Health Organization: TIP: Use the Health Topics drop-down box to locate data, fact sheets, and more.