Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Terms and Keywords
other key figures under Hitler
ethics of character
names of persons
Database Search Tips
Searching in the databases can be tricky, especially since they are all slightly different. Here are some basic tips to get you started:
- Use keywords instead of phrases. Try searching for "nurse AND education" instead of "how much school do I need to be a nurse?"
- Not every article you find in the databases will be complete. Some will only be a citation or a summary. Limit your results to "Full Text" to only see articles you can read every word of online.
- Some databases let you limit your results by date. When you need the most up-to-date information this limiter can be a real life saver!
- Look for an option to create a citation for the article right in the database. This can be a quick and easy way to create your Works Cited or References page. Always double check that the citation is correct, though.
- Remember that the databases aren't right for everything! If you're looking for general information there are other sources that may work better such as encyclopedias, handbooks, or trusted websites.
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.
Daily Life Through History
Three rich databases to provide a comprehensive, cross-disciplinary resource that supports history, social studies, English, and language students
Index of U.S. government publications
World History in Video
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century