Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Research Tip: What's in the Article Databases?
Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:
Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a VERY HIGH QUALITY SOURCE. You can limit your search to just journal articles by checking the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal box on the search screen.
Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are geared more to the general public--not as high quality as journal articles, but may be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evalauation Rubric under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.
Some databases, especially those geared to a particular topic such as Literary Reference Center, contain periodical articles as well as articles from reference books.
When you need to do research beyond the starting points above, you can find full-text articles covering a wide range of topics below. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term). The Youtube video to your right illustrates Boolean searching.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large general database with articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on many topics.
Access to all the ProQuest databases, covering a wide range of subject areas. Cross-search all databases, or search by subject area.
Access to all of the EBSCO databases, covering a wide range of subject areas. Search within a single database, or cross-search multiple databases.
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Full-text national and regional newspapers, tv and radio transcripts
Starting Points: Argumentative & Social Issues Papers
If your research assignment requires you to write about a current social or controversial issue, start here.
A good starting point for in-depth, unbiased coverage of current issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Viewpoints on all sides of controversial issues
Featured Database: American History in Video
American History in Video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
Starting Points: Literature Analysis Papers
If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, start here.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large general database with articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on many topics, including literature.
Literary Sources brings together all Gale literature related content in a single interface with great features that can save you time.
Full-text database that includes scholarly journals in the humanities.
Use your Boolean Operators (AND, OR)!
Gale Literature Resource Center
This collection provides full-text access to biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews. The collection covers all time periods and is international in scope.
Literature Criticism Online
A good starting point specifically for literary criticism. A searchable database of the Gale series of literature reference e-books.
Multi-disciplinary full text database
Research Tip: How to Search a Database
Vietnam War: possible search terms . . .there are many, many more
|Laos, Cambodia, Thailand
||My Lai massacre
||Military draft or draft cards
||Viet Cong or Viet Cong
||Ho Chi Minh Trail
|Henry Cabot Lodge
||President Diem (South Viet Nam)
|Gulf of Tonkin
||Operation Rolling Thunder
|DMZ or demilitarized zone
Protest marches or protest demonstrations
or anti-war demonstrations or peace marches
Buddhist monks or
||Lt. General William C. Westmoreland