LibGuides: Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month (May): Library Research

Library Databases

NewsBank: Asian Life in America

The experience and impact of Asian Americans as recorded by the news media.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)

For social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection is updated daily.
eBook Diversity & Ethnic Studies Collection

This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
Ethnic Diversity Source

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Ethnographic Video Online

Alexander Street Anthropology brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.

Asian American & Pacific Islander History

Main ideas: migration patterns and community formation; historical milestones and collective identity; diverse cultural experiences
Keywords: immigration, diaspora, community history, generational change, ethnic identity

Civil Rights & Social Justice Movements

Main ideas: advocacy for equity and representation; dismantling discrimination and exclusion; landmark activism and legislation
Keywords: civil rights, activism, anti-racism, legislative change, social justice

Model Minority Myth & Stereotypes

Main ideas: myths and realities of AAPI experiences; impact of social stereotypes on identity, achievement, and mental health
Keywords: model minority, stereotypes, social perception, identity, academic pressure

Asian American & Pacific Islander Women’s Issues

Main ideas: roles, challenges, and achievements of AAPI women; historical and contemporary contributions
Keywords: gender studies, women’s rights, feminist perspectives, leadership, empowerment

Health & Wellbeing in AAPI Communities

Main ideas: health disparities and access; community-specific wellness concerns and cultural factors
Keywords: public health, mental health, healthcare access, health disparities, cultural competence

Language, Literature, & the Arts

Main ideas: AAPI linguistic heritage and literary traditions; artistic and creative expression in diverse forms
Keywords: heritage languages, literature, visual arts, performing arts, film, storytelling

Economic Contributions & Entrepreneurship

Main ideas: labor history and economic impact; barriers, innovation, and business ownership
Keywords: entrepreneurship, labor history, economic development, business leadership

AAPI Genealogy & Family History

Main ideas: tracing ancestry and family connections; preservation of oral histories and cultural memory
Keywords: genealogy, ancestry, oral history, cultural heritage, family records

Political Engagement & Leadership

Main ideas: participation in the U.S. government and policy; civic activism and community leadership
Keywords: voting, civic engagement, policy, representation, political leadership

Pacific Islander, Native Hawaiian & Indigenous Issues

Main ideas: distinct cultural histories; contemporary challenges; sovereignty and land rights
Keywords: indigenous rights, Pacific Islander identity, Native Hawaiian issues, cultural preservation