Skip to main content

Music: Finding Articles & More

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

General Research

Academic OneFile is a good starting point when you're looking for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on music-related topics. When searching in our databases, make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms). Check out the YouTube video below for a quick tutorial on Boolean operators.

Consider limiting your search results to full text and scholarly peer reviewed sources.

Music Periodicals/Journals

The MCC Library subscribes to the periodical Rolling Stone, which is located in the Periodicals stacks. The library retains the current year of issues. Periodicals check out for one week.

If you are looking for a specific journal, check our listing of e-journals.

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)

Music Databases

To access databases from off campus, login with your myMCC username and password.