LibGuides: Music: Finding Books & Media

Suggested Titles

Reference books can be used inside the library.

For materials on specific music genres (country, blues, and more), search the library catalog for the subject "music encyclopedias."

The Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Music by Paul DuNoyer; Paul du Noyer
Call Number: ML 100.B38
ISBN: 0823078698
Publication Date: 2003
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: ML100 .G16 1997 Vol 1-10
ISBN: 0824060350
Publication Date: 1997
Some volumes are located in the CD-Stacks and can be checked out.
Icons of Hip Hop by Mickey Hess (Editor)
Call Number: ML 394.I26 Vol 1-2
ISBN: 9780313339028
Publication Date: 2007
Music in American Life by Jacqueline Edmondson
Call Number: ML101 .U6 M87 2013
ISBN: 9780313393471
Publication Date: 2013
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Sadie, Stanley (Editor)
Call Number: ML 100.N48
VOL 1 of 29. This content can also be found in the Oxford Music database listed in the Reference eBooks box at right.
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments by Anthony C. Baines
Call Number: ML102.I5 B34 1992
ISBN: 0193113341
Publication Date: 1992

Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what physical and electronic resources the Library has available. Enter your search below to get started!

Try some of the suggested search terms below:

To access Reference eBooks from off campus, login with your myMCC username and password. Reference eBooks are always available.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of reference e-books. Use this instead of Wikipedia for background information!
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles from full-text reference books on many subjects.
eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of multidisciplinary ebooks.