Research Strategies
This is the "Home" page of the "Speech Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Speech Research Guide   Tags: argumentative, controversial, persuasive, public speaking, speech  

Last Updated: Aug 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mchenry.edu/spe Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC.  Click on "What's my username or password?"  

Specific Assignments

 

Start Here!

 Welcome!  This guide has been created to direct students to good quality resources for their speeches.  Some of the most useful features of this guide are:

The box on the left on this screen tells you how to access databases from off campus. There's lots of great stuff in the databases!

You will find some additional Guides in the Specific Assignments box on the left to direct  you to sources for some specific class assignments.

The Finding Books & Media tab at the top of the page contains access to the Library Catalog which lists books and audiovisual media in the MCC Library.  Also on this tab you will find databases that contain full-text reference books on many subjects.

The Finding Articles & More tab will take you to databases that contain articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.  This is probably the part of this guide that you will use the most!! 

The Evaluating Sources tab will take you to our Source Evaluation Rubric (SCARAB Rubric) which will help you select good quality sources suitable for use in a college-level research assignment.

The Citing Sources tab provides sample citations for both MLA and APA citation styles. 

Need help?  To the right you will find contact information to get help from a librarian.

 

MCC Library

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on our Ask a Librarian! link.

Phone: 815-455-8762

Fall/Spring Semester Hours: 

Mon - Thurs 8am-9:30pm

Fri 8am-4:30pm

Sat 8am-2pm

Closed Sundays

Closed Sat 8/30 and Mon 9/1

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip