Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Research Guide: Finding Articles & More

A research guide covering all areas of art.

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Article Databases

In the databases below, you will find full-text articles on art-related topics. Make sure to use Boolean AND (to include all terms) or Boolean OR (to include either term) when searching. See the YouTube video for a brief tutorial on Boolean searching.

Other Art Journals

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)

Art Program Journals

The MCC Library owns the journals listed below, which are located in the Periodicals Stacks. If you are looking for a specific journal not listed below, check our listing of e-journals to find out if it is available in one of our databases.