The Research Process
- Identify what kind of information you need. Start with what your assignment requires.
- Take time to explore a broad topic (pre-research) to find keywords and narrow down the topic to something more specific.
- Develop your search strategy: Where will you look for information? Seek a variety of sources and information types for a comprehensive and balanced look at your topic.
- Use the main ideas of your thesis statement as keywords to start your database search, then revise your search as you identify other keywords or ideas. (Sometimes revising a search may mean choosing a different database!) Use limiters when necessary to see results that are the most relevant to what you need.
- Evaluate all sources for credibility and usefulness.
Library Databases
The library subscribes to more than 150 databases that contain different types of information in general and subject-specific research areas. Databases like Opposing Viewpoints and Credo Reference are helpful for pre-research, or gathering information about a broad topic. Academic Search Complete is a good database for starting general research because it covers a wide variety of research areas.
Benefits of using library databases:
- Access thousands of free full-text popular and scholarly articles, eBooks, historical newspapers, primary sources, videos, statistics, and more.
- Easily identify what kind of information you have.
- Use the citation tool to grab the complete citation for your source.
Next Steps
Now that you've completed the ENG152 Information Literacy: Keywords and Database Searching online module, you're ready to practice your new skills! Move on to the assignment called Research Activity in the next section. Be sure to read all instructions carefully.
