ENG 152 : Keywords and Database Searching for Dual Credit

These database search strategies are useful for any library database you use.

1. Search with 2-3 precise keywords (subject terms) at a time. Do not search with questions or long phrases. 
2. Use quotation marks around words you want to search as a complete phrase ("student loan debt").
3. Limiters: Always use the Full Text limiter. Use the Peer Reviewed limiter if that is the kind of information you need. You can also adjust the date range to get the most current articles.
4. Revise your search: Use a variety of keywords to get a comprehensive look at your topic. Each keyword you add will reduce your results. Each keyword you remove will expand your results.

Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT

Use Boolean Operators to connect keywords and create search strings.

AND: for combining unrelated search terms

“student loan debt” AND repayment = this search string will locate articles that connect both of these keywords.

OR: for searching similar words or synonyms

college OR “higher education” = this search string will locate articles that use either of these words.

NOT: for eliminating results

“student loan debt” NOT parents = this search string will locate articles that discuss student loan debt but eliminate articles that refer to parents.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is good database to use when starting your research. Academic Search Complete covers research in many different areas and contains full-text popular and scholarly articles.

The following short video (3 min 33 sec) shows how to search your topic in Academic Search Complete and apply the search strategies you just learned. The information in this video will help you complete your graded assignment at the end of the module.