Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Database Tutorial:
“Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.” www.statista.com
Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
To learn more about the topic of your persuasive speech and find keywords to help you do more research, these library databases will be good search tools to start with.
In addition to Opposing Viewpoints and Credo Reference, learn how you can use these library databases to find different types of sources.
Academic Search Complete (article database)
Uses: Popular and scholarly sources. Original research. Filter results by full text, peer-reviewed, and date range. TIP: Use the Subject Terms tool to access a comprehensive list of database-recommended keywords on your topic.
Statista
Statistics add value to your speech and may help you persuade your audience through the use of credible data. Tip: Filter results by location, industry, date, content type, and more.
Remember to browse our full list of databases to see if one is a good fit for information on your topic. You can sort databases by Subject (like Psychology) and Type (eBooks, articles, images, and more). Refer to the A to Z Databases tab for our full list of databases.
Google can help you quickly find information about current news and events, local issues, government sources, and more. Use these search tips for better search results: