Now that you know your thesis statement, the next step is deciding where to search for information. The tools you use to search can affect the kinds of results you get.
The two most common search tools are:
- Search engines (like Google)
- Library databases
Search Engines (Google, Safari, etc.)
- Search engines connect you to the internet using algorithms.
- Your results are personalized — meaning they’re affected by your location, past searches, and even paid advertising.
- While you can find useful things (government reports, statistics, current news, basic background info), high-quality sources like scholarly articles are often behind paywalls and not free.
- Be cautious: a website’s domain (.edu, .org, .com) only tells you what type of site it is — not whether it’s credible. Always evaluate what you find!
Library Databases
- A database is a collection of published sources (articles, books, videos, reports, etc.) that you can search directly.
- Unlike Google, a database only shows you what you tell it to find using keywords and filters — meaning results aren’t influenced by ads or algorithms.
- Many databases focus on specific subjects (like Psychology, History, or Women’s Studies), while others cover many topics.
- Everything you access in a database is completely free through your library.
Benefits of databases:
- Full-text access to thousands of scholarly and popular sources (articles, books, newspapers, videos, primary sources, statistics, and more).
- Clear labels that show you what type of source you’re looking at (magazine, academic journal, news, viewpoint, etc.).
- Automatic citation tools built in.
- Always available — no library card needed.
- Constantly updated with new research.
Use a Variety of Sources
No matter which search tool you use, it’s important to include different kinds of sources in your research. This helps ensure your work is:
- Accurate
- Comprehensive (covers the full picture)
- Balanced (shows different perspectives)
- Supported by strong evidence
