LibGuides: Earth Day & Sustainability Awareness (April): Library Research

Library Databases

Environmental Studies (Gale In Context)

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information regarding today's environmental issues, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. The database is updated daily with relevant content integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on subjects such as climate change, food security, soil ecology, and tourism. ReadSpeaker and on-demand article translation accommodates diverse backgrounds. Citation tools for formatting into MLA, APA, and Chicago style are integrated directly into the user's workflow and can be easily imported from single or multiple documents to services like EasyBib or NoodleTools.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)

Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that that answers inquiries about environmental concerns from diverse perspectives. The database provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference materials covering environmental issues. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
GreenFILE

Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)

Gardening and Horticulture serves horticultural researchers and features articles and reference titles including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more. Superior search indexing gives users the ability to search by publication date, document type, publication title, publication subject; or by documents with full text, peer-reviewed publications with little to no embargo; documents with images.
Agricola

Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA is an abstracting and indexing database that provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
Agriculture (Gale OneFile)

With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry-from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields.
Science: Gale Interactive

Going beyond textbooks and traditional science curriculum, Gale Interactive: Science is a highly visual online learning tool that takes visual-spatial learning to the next level by bringing the lab to the classroom. High-value, rich-media digital content selected from authoritative classroom resources—like Gale In Context: Science and Gale OneFile—is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students in middle school and high school grades. Students can entertain their curiosity and inspire grade improvement through an experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics.

Research Areas

Climate and energy

Keywords: climate change, global warming, greenhouse gases, mitigation, adaptation, renewable energy, energy transition, decarbonization, climate policy
Main ideas: Causes and impacts of climate change; strategies to reduce emissions and build climate resilience; design and assessment of low‑carbon energy systems.

Biodiversity and conservation

Keywords: biodiversity loss, habitat fragmentation, conservation biology, restoration ecology, protected areas, invasive species, ecosystem services
Main ideas: Drivers and consequences of species loss; protecting and restoring ecosystems; valuing ecological services that support human well‑being.

Environmental justice and policy

Keywords: environmental justice, climate justice, Indigenous rights, equity, environmental policy, regulation, governance, community-based research
Main ideas: Unequal environmental burdens and benefits; how laws, policies, and institutions shape environmental outcomes; centering frontline and marginalized communities.

Sustainable food and agriculture

Keywords: sustainable agriculture, agroecology, food systems, food security, local food, soil health, pesticides, livestock impacts
Main ideas: Environmental and social impacts of food production; resilient, low‑impact farming; access to healthy, culturally appropriate food.

Water resources and aquatic systems

Keywords: water quality, water scarcity, freshwater ecosystems, watershed management, stormwater, groundwater, wetlands, blue‑green infrastructure
Main ideas: Protecting and managing water quantity and quality; impacts of pollution and climate change on rivers, lakes, and wetlands; sustainable urban water design.

Waste, materials, and circular economy

Keywords: solid waste, recycling, composting, circular economy, life cycle assessment, plastics, e‑waste, sustainable materials management
Main ideas: Reducing waste and pollution across product life cycles; designing for reuse, repair, and recycling; shifting from linear to circular systems.

Urban sustainability and green infrastructure

Keywords: sustainable cities, green infrastructure, urban planning, transportation, air quality, heat islands, smart growth
Main ideas: Designing cities that reduce emissions and pollution; integrating nature into urban spaces; improving health, mobility, and quality of life.

Environmental health and toxicology

Keywords: environmental health, exposure, toxins, air pollution, endocrine disruptors, public health, risk assessment, occupational health
Main ideas: How pollutants affect human health; exposure pathways; policies and interventions to prevent or reduce harm.

Culture, education, and behavior change

Keywords: sustainability education, environmental literacy, behavior change, communication, culture, youth activism, informal learning
Main ideas: How values, knowledge, and communication shape environmental action; designing education and outreach that support sustainable choices.

Corporate sustainability and green economics

Keywords: ESG, corporate sustainability, green finance, sustainable business, circular business models, carbon disclosure, sustainable investment
Main ideas: How organizations measure, report, and reduce impacts; aligning economic activity with environmental and social goals.

Earth Day & Sustainability Awareness (April)

MCC Library Catalog

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)

Salem Press Science

Library Databases

Research Areas