Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics
Gale in Context: Science
Periodical and reference articles on science topics
Brainstorming for Keywords
Database Search Tips
Searching in the databases can be tricky, especially since they are all slightly different. Here are some basic tips to get you started:
- Use keywords instead of phrases. Try searching for "nurse AND education" instead of "how much school do I need to be a nurse?"
- Not every article you find in the databases will be complete. Some will only be a citation or a summary. Limit your results to "Full Text" to only see articles you can read every word of online.
- Some databases let you limit your results by date. When you need the most up-to-date information this limiter can be a real life saver!
- Look for an option to create a citation for the article right in the database. This can be a quick and easy way to create your Works Cited or References page. Always double check that the citation is correct, though.
- Remember that the databases aren't right for everything! If you're looking for general information there are other sources that may work better such as encyclopedias, handbooks, or trusted websites.