LibGuides: Culinary Arts Research Guide: Home

About This Guide

The MCC Library provides access to numerous digital resources to help you succeed in your Culinary Arts coursework. Whether you’re earning your Chef’s Assistant Certificate or planning to complete your AAS in Culinary Management at MCC, our program prepares you with hands-on skills in hospitality, food safety, culinary techniques, and baking. Here are two valuable library resources you can rely on throughout your program.

Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)

What it offers: Access to articles, recipes, chef profiles, restaurant reviews, and trends within the culinary world. Covers topics such as cooking techniques, global cuisines, nutrition, food history, and the latest in the culinary industry.
How to use it: Use this resource to find credible information for assignments, menu building, new cooking inspirations, or staying current with food trends and best practices. Search using topics like “sous vide,” “pastry arts,” or “plant-based cooking.” Explore by chef name for profiles or signature recipes. Filter results for recent articles or specific recipe needs.

Business Source Premier

What it offers: A leading business research database with articles, company profiles, industry reports, and case studies relevant to the food service and restaurant industry. Focuses on restaurant management, business trends, hospitality operations, marketing, and the wider food industry.
How to use it: Use this database to research the business and management side of culinary arts—such as starting a restaurant, branding, market analysis, or food service innovations. Search with keywords like “restaurant management,” “food industry marketing,” or “menu pricing.” It’s especially helpful for business projects, understanding industry landscapes, or exploring entrepreneurship.

Tip: Both databases can be easily accessed online through the MCC Library’s website. Make them part of your coursework toolkit—for researching recipes, learning new techniques, and preparing for the management challenges of a culinary career.

Remember, the library is here to help you along the way! If you have a research question, use the Get Help from a Librarian tab to start a chat or schedule a research appointment.

Databases for Culinary Arts Information

Business Source Premier

Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications
Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)

Provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Hobbies and Crafts Source

Hobbies & Crafts Source is a DIY database of leading full-text hobby and craft magazines, hobby profiles, recipes and videos to inspire creativity and nurture extra-curricular interests.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries as well as a wealth of information on state parks and information, planning a vacation, and full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)

Vocations and Careers provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.