To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login.
Field Searching:
Limiters:
Advanced Boolean Search:
Wild Card
Truncation
Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:
Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a VERY HIGH QUALITY SOURCE. You can limit your search to just journal articles by checking the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal box on the search screen.
Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are geared more to the general public--not as high quality as journal articles, but may be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evalauation Rubric under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.
Trade or Professional Articles are intended for professionals and others engaged in specific professions or trades. These periodical articles may include "how tos" and on the job articles as well as notices of conferences and meetings and advertisements and articles about equipment, supplies, coursework and seminars all related to a field or trade.
Some databases, especially those geared to a particular topic such as Literary Reference Center, contain periodical articles as well as articles from reference books.
The following e-Reference databases are great for gathering background information on your topic. You need your myMCC login to access them.
Gale Literature Criticism contains centuries of literary analysis, from scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It includes criticism on works in children's literature, classic and medieval literature, literature from the 1400s to 1800s including the works of Shakespeare, drama, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, short stories, and poetry.
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
You can find full-text articles covering a wide range of topics in the databases below. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term). The Youtube video to your left illustrates Boolean searching.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Gender Studies provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"
Keywords and Database Searching
If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, start here.
Gale Literature Criticism contains centuries of literary analysis, from scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. It includes criticism on works in children's literature, classic and medieval literature, literature from the 1400s to 1800s including the works of Shakespeare, drama, nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature, short stories, and poetry.
Literature Resource Center provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their own literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. The database features primary works in a variety of genres, up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews that encourage interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
