LibGuides: Native American Heritage Month (November): Library Research

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Database Tutorial:
American History in Video

American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
U.S. History (Gale In Context)

U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. This comprehensive, contextual, media-rich collection empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)

For social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection is updated daily.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile)

U.S. History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Research Areas

Indigenous Peoples of North America

Main ideas: collective history, cultural diversity, and experience of Native nations across the continent
Keywords: Native American, First Nations, Indigenous identity, tribal cultures, settlement

Tribal Nations & Sovereignty

Main ideas: autonomy, governance, and treaties among sovereign tribal nations
Keywords: tribal government, sovereignty, nation-to-nation, treaties, self-determination

Native American Art & Material Culture

Main ideas: traditional and contemporary arts, symbolism, and craftsmanship
Keywords: fine arts, visual culture, basketry, beadwork, jewelry, material heritage

Native American Activism & Social Justice

Main ideas: organizing for rights, advocacy, protest movements, and legal reform
Keywords: activism, self-determination, civil rights, protest, advocacy

Indigenous Architecture & Built Environments

Main ideas: traditional and contemporary Native American architectural forms and place-making
Keywords: indigenous architecture, land use, cultural landscapes, place-making

Native American Children, Youth, & Education

Main ideas: experiences in institutional care; educational access, wellness, and rights
Keywords: childhood, education, boarding schools, child welfare, youth empowerment

Legal Status, Land Title & Policy

Main ideas: changing legal designations, land rights, territory, and governance
Keywords: land claims, title, legal status, policy, federal relations

Native American Code Talkers & Veterans

Main ideas: service and contributions of Native Americans in U.S. military history
Keywords: code talkers, veterans, military service, wartime roles

Food, Cooking, & Traditional Knowledge

Main ideas: indigenous foods, culinary traditions, nutrition, and cultural practices
Keywords: indigenous foods, traditional cooking, ethnobotany, foodways

Dress, Textile, & Adornment

Main ideas: significance of clothing, regalia, and adornment in Native cultures
Keywords: traditional clothing, regalia, textiles, adornment

Dance, Ceremony, & Spiritual Practice

Main ideas: performance of dance, burial rites, religious leadership, and ceremonial life
Keywords: dance, rituals, funeral rites, prayers, spiritual leaders

Languages & Oral Traditions

Main ideas: preservation, revitalization, and significance of indigenous languages
Keywords: language revitalization, oral history, linguistic heritage, multilingualism

Politics, Legislators, & Governance

Main ideas: Native American leadership in legislative and government roles
Keywords: legislators, governance, political representation, public policy

Reservations, Communities & Urban Life

Main ideas: reservation systems, changing community structures, and Native experiences in urban settings
Keywords: reservations, urban Native experience, communities, relocation

Enslavement & Forced Labor

Main ideas: histories of enslavement, forced labor, and their legacies in Native communities
Keywords: enslaved Native Americans, forced labor, colonial history

Disability, Health, & Wellness

Main ideas: experiences and advocacy for Native Americans with disabilities, health disparities
Keywords: disability, health equity, wellness, access to care

Tribal Prisons, Law, & Justice

Main ideas: legal systems, incarceration, and criminal justice within tribal contexts
Keywords: tribal justice, incarceration, prisons, legal systems

Native American Wars & Weaponry

Main ideas: conflict, resistance, and technological history of weaponry
Keywords: wars, battles, military strategy, weapons, resistance