Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Obtaining Full-Text of Articles Listed in OT Search
OT Search is not a full-text database. To obtain full-text articles, try the following:
- Once you find an article in OT Search, try searching the sources shown below for the title of your article.
- Order the article through interlibrary loan by bringing the citation from OT Search to the Library Circulation Desk. NOTE: It can take a week or two to obtain material via interlibrary loan.
Search engine for finding more scholarly resources on the web, including free scholarly journal articles.
Type the title of the JOURNAL (not the article title) into the Browse list of e-journals box to see if the journal is full-text in any of the MCC databases.
Obtaining Books listed in OT Search
OT Search lists both books and journal articles. To obtain books, try the following:
- Check the MCC Library catalog to see if the book is available at MCC or within I-Share. Use your MCC library card to place a hold on the book.
- If the book is not available through MCC's resources, search WorldCat (link below) to find a library that owns the book you need. Order the book through interlibrary loan by bringing the citation from OT Search to the Library Circulation Desk. NOTE: It can take a week or two to obtain material via interlibrary loan.
Looking for OT Journals?
Use the Journal List to search for specific OT journals such as:
- Australian Occupational Therapy Journal
- British Journal of Occupational Therapy
- Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
Click on the database listed in the results to go directly to that journal. Then choose an issue to browse, or search for articles within the journal.
The Library has an electronic subscription to The American Journal of Occupational Therapy. The link to this subscription is in the Databases box to the right.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
AJOT - The American Journal of Occupational Therapy
Full-text access to The American Journal of Occupational Therapy
OT Search is not a full-text database. Use it to identify sources, and use the tips in the boxes on the right of this page to determine the availablity of the full document.
ICE Video Library
A collection of 185 short patient videos for OTA and PTA students
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete contains full-text for more than 1,200 journals in over 50 nursing and allied health specialties.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large database of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, many in full-text, on a variety of topics.
Multidisciplinary database with access to full-text magazine, newspaper, trade & scholarly journal articles, as well as wire feeds and more