Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. If you need to reset your password, go to the myMCC login page and click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)
Good Starting Point
Academic OneFile is a good starting point when you're looking for magazine, newspaper and journal articles on your topic. When searching in our databases, make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms).
Other Suggested Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large database of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, many in full-text, on a variety of topics.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
This full-text database provides information on computer-related products, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Periodical and reference articles on science topics
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications