Skip to main content

Archives: Home

The McHenry County College Archives is the official repository for a variety of artifacts pertaining to history and development of the College over time.

50th Anniversary Homecoming Photograph Identification Project

50th Anniversary Homecoming Photograph Identification Project

Join us Tuesday, April 11th, 2017 - ‚Äč3 - 6PM

The McHenry County College Archives gratefully acknowledges the generous support of community, administrative,  student, alumni, staff and faculty donors and volunteers in the development of the McHenry County College Archives collections.

Thank you!

 

Mission

Mission

Acquiring and preserving significant documents and materials in print, digital and electronic format, the McHenry County College Archives commits to providing administrators, trustees, faculty, students, staff, and the broader community with equal access to an accurate, unbiased, and complete historical record of McHenry County College. Following McHenry County College’s broader institutional mission of learning and student success, the McHenry County College Archives works to:

Collect significant and valuable materials in a variety of formats to build an accurate and unbiased historical record of McHenry County College

Preserve and maintain existing archival records according to current professional best practice standards to retain a complete historical record of McHenry County College

Promote increased physical and digital access to relevant and available archival records for personal, educational and non-commercial research pertaining to the history of McHenry County College

Instruct researchers and library staff in the proper handling and attribution of archival records within the McHenry County College Archives

Support the daily operation of McHenry County College by documenting significant events and the achievements of students, faculty, administration, trustees and staff

Share the importance of the McHenry County College Archives in preserving archival records within the campus and broader community.

Our Collections

Materials Already Processed

The following records have been processed and are available for research:

Slides

Proofs

Student Publications

Institutional Publications (Course Catalogs 1968-2008, Bagpipes Staff Newsletter 1980-2009)

Photographic Prints

 

Materials Being Processed / Rehoused

The following records are currently being processed:

Negatives

Newspapers

Press Releases

 

As records become available for research, they will be added to the Finding Aid. If your research requires other records, contact the Dean of Library.

Access

Access

The McHenry County College Archives is committed to acquiring, preserving and providing access to all the archival records within its collections. Records retained by the McHenry County College Archives must be viewed within the Library, with library staff present. The McHenry County College Archives reserves the right to limit access to researchers who violate the McHenry County College Archives policies and procedures. Unprocessed collections not listed within the published Finding Aid are unavailable for research by members of the institution or broader community.

To be provided with access to the McHenry County College Archives, researchers agree to the following terms and conditions:

Provide appropriate and accurate researcher identification upon arrival

View materials only with library staff present

Use only pencils and paper or a laptop for note taking purposes (no pens, markers, cameras, cell phones, food, drink, headphones, bags, purses, jackets, coats, or other items upon the request of the Archivist)

Obtain the appropriate permission and/or license from the McHenry County College Archives and the associated copyright holder(s), for any usage other than for personal, educational or other non-commercial purposes

Provide the proper attribution and citation required, as provided by library staff, when using materials from the McHenry County College Archives

Not alter, deface, destroy or pose a threat to staff or archival records in print, digital or electronic format

Reproductions

High Quality Reproductions

To request a high quality reproduction of records from our collection, contact the Dean of Library. In some cases, records may not be available as reproductions due to preservation concerns, restrictions, rights, terms or conditions.

Contact

Questions regarding the McHenry County College Archives should be addressed to:

Kate Harger, Dean of Library

KHarger@McHenry.edu

(815) 455-8695

MCC Library

MCC Library Homepage

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on

Ask a Librarian!

Phone: 815-455-8762

Fall Semester 2017 Hours:

August 18 through December 15

Monday – Thursday

8:00 am to 8:30 pm

Friday

8:00 am to 4:30 pm

Saturday

9:00 am to 1:00 pm

The library will be closed Wednesday, November 22 through Sunday, November 26 for the Thanksgiving holiday.