LibGuides: BIO 157: Experiment Paper: Home: Finding Articles and Research

Quick Links

Quick Start Your Research
by Kim Tipton Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 12639 views this year

Plan Your Research worksheet

MCC Library Info

MCC Library

Building A, Room 212

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on

Ask a Librarian!

Regular Library Hours

Monday through Thursday

8:00am to 7:00pm

Friday

8:00am to 4:30pm

Library Closed

Monday September 2

Tuesday November 5

Wednesday-Friday November 27-29

Keywords to Try

Starting Your Search

Start your search with two or three keywords.
- One keyword isn't specific enough and will produce an overwhelming number of results.
- Too many keywords might be too specific and won't produce enough results.
Revise your search -- try other keywords and see how that changes your results.

Some Keywords to Try

Catalase AND temperature
Fermentation AND ethanol
Fermentation AND salt
Fermentation AND temperature
Fermentation AND sugar

Search Tips

Try these search tips to locate information efficiently in our databases:

Boolean operators

AND: for combining unrelated search terms (like catalase AND temperature)
OR: for searching similar words (like salt OR sodium chloride)
NOT: for eliminating results (like fermentation NOT bacteria)

Phrase searching

Use quotation marks to search words as a complete phrase, like “biochemical process”

Limiters

Full text
Publication date

How to Find Scientific Articles

These databases are good for finding in-depth articles on your topic.

eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources and covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Also included are thousands of podcasts and videos.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large database of articles, many in full-text, on a variety of subjects from journals, magazines and newspapers.
Database Tutorial:

This list contains links to open access scientific information on the web. Remember to evaluate the information carefully!

BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of multidisciplinary ebooks.

BIO 157: Experiment Paper: Home: Finding Articles and Research

Off-Campus Access to Databases