Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 152-Dual Enrollment

Introduction

Welcome to the information literacy session for ENG 152. This is the third of three information literacy sessions that you've had at MCC. In this module you will be learning how to develop keywords and search strategies, as well as some tips and tricks for getting the most relevant results when researching in library databases. Once you have watched both the Keywords and Database Searching videos, you'll practice your database searching skills by completing the searching activity. 

Infographic

Glossary of terms

Library Terminology: Glossary of Library Terms

  • Abstract: "A summary or brief description of the content of another longer work. An abstract is often provided along with the citation to a work."
  • Annotation: "1. A note that describes, explains, or evaluates; especially such a note added to an entry in a bibliography, reading list, or catalog. 2. Process of making such notes. Annotation is the end product of making such notes."
  • Article: "A brief work—generally between 1 and 35 pages in length—on a topic. Often published as part of a journal, magazine, or newspaper."
  • Bibliography: "A list containing citations to the resources used in writing a research paper or other document." See also: Reference.
  • Boolean operator: "A word—such as AND, OR, or NOT—that commands a computer to combine search terms. Helps to narrow (AND, NOT) or broaden (OR) searches."
  • Call Number "A group of letters and/or numbers that identifies a specific item in a library and provides a way for organizing library holdings. Two major types of call numbers are Dewey Decimal Call Numbers and Library of Congress Call Numbers."
  • Catalog "A database (either online or on paper cards) listing and describing the books, journals, government documents, audiovisual and other materials held by a library. Various search terms allow you to look for items in the catalog."
  • Database: "A collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer."
  • Full-text: "A complete electronic copy of a resource, usually an article, viewed on a computer display screen. The term "full-text" is often used to refer to the electronic version of an article or book that is also published in print."
  • Journal: "A publication, issued on a regular basis, which contains scholarly research published as articles, papers, research reports, or technical reports.: See also: Periodical.
  • Peer reviewed journal: "Peer review is a process by which editors have experts in a field review books or articles submitted for publication by the experts’ peers. Peer review helps to ensure the quality of an information source by publishing only works of proven validity, methodology, and quality. Peer-reviewed journals are also called refereed or scholarly journals."
  • Periodical: "An information source published in multiple parts at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, biannually). Journalsmagazines, and newspapers are all periodicals."
  • Primary source: "An original record of events, such as a diary, a newspaper article, a public record, or scientific documentation.

Definitions from University of Southern California