Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG152: Finding Articles & More

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. If you need to reset your password, go to the myMCC login page and click on Password Reset/Find Username.

General Article & eBook Databases

Use our library databases to find full-text scholarly articles covering a wide range of topics. The databases listed here are a good place to start!

Search Strategies

Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT

AND: for combining unrelated search terms, like food safety AND pesticides

OR: for searching similar words, like food safety OR food handling

NOT: for eliminating results, like food safety NOT laws

Phrase Searching:

Use quotation marks to search words as a complete phrase, like “food safety”

Keywords

Don't search with a question like you might on the open internet. Remember to use specific keywords or subject terms, like the ones we identified earlier.

Use 2-3 keywords at a time

  • one keyword = too many results
  • more than three keywords = might be too specific

Limiters

Full Text

Peer reviewed

Date Range

Format types (academic journal, newspaper, magazine, opinion, etc.)

Database Search Tips

After you've identified the key concepts and related keywords for your thesis statement, the next steps are to select your search tools and then test your search. Our A to Z Databases are a good place to start when you need scholarly peer-reviewed information.

  • Academic Search Complete is a good general subject database to start with.
  • Opposing Viewpoints is good when you are researching a controversial topic.

 

Revising Your Search

Don't stop after one search! It's a good idea to revise or refine your search to find the most relevant results.

  • Look at the keywords or subject terms in the list of results for ideas of other terms to search.
  • If you find a source you like, look at its list of references for more ideas.

You may need to repeat these steps a few times! Research is messy and rarely goes in a straight line. Remember, if you need help with your research, you can always ask a librarian!

 

Finding Statistics

You won't usually find statistics in a database. Your best option is to look at government sources or organizations that collection that data and report on it. For help finding original data and statistics on specific topics, click the Finding Statistics tab.