LibGuides: HRT103: Introduction to Plant Science: Books and eBooks

Full-Text Library eBooks

Pre-Research

Before you start researching your plants, it's important to learn more about them to get some background information and identify keywords to gather the information that's required for your reports. Taking the time to do some pre-research will get you started. One place to do that pre-research is through books or eBooks.

Using Books or eBooks

Books and eBooks are a great place to learn about your topic all in one place.
eBooks are also very accessible because content is hyperlinked and searchable.

TIP: Use CTRL+F to open a search box within the eBook. Type the word you're looking for and each instance of the word in the eBook will be highlighted for quick navigation.

Print books are available in the library for you to check out when the library is open. eBooks are available to view at any time without a library card.
You don't have to read an entire book for it to be helpful -- you may only need a chapter or even a paragraph to help you answer your research question.

Accessing eBooks

You can use the library catalog to search for eBooks.

Enter your keywords in the catalog's search box.
Using the filters on the right of your results, click Available Online and Books, then click Apply Filters.
Click on the title of an eBook, then scroll to the View Online section. Click the name of the database under Full Text Availability to access the book. (More than one database may be listed.)

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains short articles from reference books like encyclopedias. Start here for an introduction to the plants you are researching.
eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text eBooks on a variety of topics, including plant science. Enter your plant name in their search box to get started.
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text eBooks on a variety of topics, including plant science. Enter your plant name in their search box to get started.

Library Resources

To browse horticulture books on the shelf in the library, go to these areas:

QK - Botany
S - Agriculture
SB - Plant Culture
- SB 317.5-319.844 - Horticulture
- SB 320-353.5 - Vegetables
- SB 354-402 - Fruits
- SB 403-450.87 - Flowers
- SB 450.9-467.8 - Gardens and gardening
- SB 469-476.4 - Landscape gardening
SD - Forestry

To search for additional materials in the catalog and library databases, try keywords like: botany, horticulture, plants, gardening, ecology, human-plant relationships, plants and civilizations, nursery, greenhouse, plant reproduction, plant biology, plant taxonomy, perennials, annuals, landscape