Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Literature Analysis Papers
If your research assignment requires you to write about literary criticism or literary themes, the following databases are a good place to start.
Single search that brings together all the content in Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, LitFinder, and select books from GVRL.
Literature Criticism Online
A good starting point specifically for literary criticism. A searchable database of the Gale series of literature reference e-books.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A good starting point for any literary assignment. Access criticism, biographies, topic overviews and more.
Scholarly articles. Use your Boolean Operators (AND, OR) for best searching.
Gale Literature: Litfinder
LitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains literature content, including poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches, plays, biographies, summaries, photographs, and more. Full-text is available in many cases.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
Censorship is broader than books | Office of Intellectual Freedom
Research Tip: How to Search a Database
Research Tip: Free Web vs. Fee Web
The Free Web is made up of web pages you can find using Google and other free web search engines. Some assignments do not allow free web resources. Good material may be found here, but you might also find a lot of popular resources that are inappropriate for academic writing. Refer to our SCARAB for help in evaluating your sources.
The Fee Web (also known as the Hidden, Invisible, or Deep Web) includes subscription databases. You can limit your results to full text and scholarly, peer-reviewed articles that are often required.
Online Databases: a definition
An organized collection of computer records having a standard format designed for efficient retrieval of information.
Advantages of Online Databases:
- Can access remotely
- Can limit results to full text of articles
- More time efficient
- Information is updated frequently
- More flexible and precise searching
- Access to more resources than could be physically located in the library
Google RSS Feed: Banned Books
Creating Search Statements