Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Materials on Censorship
Banned and Challenged Books
Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what the Library has on your topic. Enter your search below to get started!
The Latest "Banned Books" | CBS This Morning Saturday (book censorship as a cultural, political barometer - 4:55 min.)
Commonly Banned or Challenged Books
These are but a few of the titles available.
The following e-Reference databases are great for gathering background information on your topic. You need your myMCC login to access them.
Literature Criticism Online
A good starting point specifically for literary criticism. A searchable database of the Gale series of literature reference e-books.
A searchable database of reference e-books. Use this instead of Wikipedia for background information!
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A searchable collection of reference e-books from Gale, a well-respected publisher.
McHenry County College's online collection for careers, health, history and literature.
Critical analysis (for check-out)
Some of our more studied classics--and this includes some banned and censored books--may have circulating books with critical insights, analyses, and interpretations of the works. If not, be sure to refer to our Reference Collection, both print and electronic and seek the assistance of a Reference Librarian if you need more help. (Below are just a few examples.)