LibGuides: *English Research Guide*: Finding Books & Media

Library Catalog

Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what physical and electronic resources the Library has available. Enter your search below to get started!

Sample Catalog Record

Literature Call Numbers

In the MCC Library, works of literature and books about literature and authors are shelved in the P call number area. See breakdown below:

PA: Classical literature
PG: Slavic
PJ-PL: Oriental, Indo-Iranian, East Asia, Africa, Oceania
PN: General
PQ: French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese
PR: English
PS: American
PT: German, Dutch, Scandinavian

eBook Databases

The following databases contain eBooks and are great for gathering background information on your topic. You need your myMCC login to access them from off campus.

Literature Criticism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A good starting point specifically for literary criticism. A searchable database of the Gale series of literature reference e-books.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of reference e-books. Use this instead of Wikipedia for background information!
eBooks (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of reference e-books from Gale, a well-respected publisher.
Current Affairs in Video This link opens in a new window
Current Affairs in Video is a unique streaming video resource featuring a collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative ebooks from a variety of publishers