Skip to Main Content

*English Research Guide*: Home

A research guide covering all composition, literature and mythology courses.

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login.

ENG 152 Information Literacy Objectives

Information Literacy is one of MCC's four general education goals. Information Literacy is the ability to recognize when information is needed and to locate, evaluate and use information effectively. In this session, you will learn how to:

  1. Select appropriate search tools to identify and locate information sources.
  2. Construct effective database searches.

These skills will help you find quality, appropriate resources for your research assignments.

Start Here!

Welcome! This guide has been created to direct English students to quality, appropriate resources for their papers. Below are some of the most useful features of this guide.

The box above tells you how to access databases from off campus. The databases are a great source for scholarly, peer reviewed articles.

You will find some additional Guides in the Specific Assignments box on the left to direct you to sources for some specific English assignments, such as Community & Local Research and Greek & Roman Mythology. 

Finding Books & Media at the top contains access to the Library Catalog which lists books and media in the MCC Library.  Also on this tab you will find databases that contain full-text reference books on many subjects.

Finding Articles & More directs you to databases that contain articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Evaluating Sources directs you to information about the SIFT Method, which will help you select quality, appropriate sources suitable for use in a college-level research paper. 

The Quick Links box provides links to our citations guides, our full list of databases, and all of our research guides.

Need help? Click Ask a Librarian in the MCC  Library Info box to start a chat with a librarian. 

ENG 151 Information Literacy Objectives

Information Literacy is one of MCC's four general education goals. Part of Information Literacy is the ability to evaluate information for quality and to select sources that are suitable for the information need! We're here today to help you develop these skills in ENG 151. Following this session (and with some practice), you should be able to: 

  1. Evaluate the quality of a resource using multiple criteria including authority, objectivity, and accuracy.
  2. Judge the suitability of a resource to the information need by assessing  such characteristics as its purpose, scope, intended audience, point of view, timeliness, publication format, and relevance.
  3. Select appropriate search tools to identify and locate information sources for argumentative papers.
  4. Recognize that information issues are becoming increasingly important in our society.
  5. Recognize different information formats, such as journal articles, newspaper articles, blogs, etc.

Quick Links

MCC Library Info

MCC Library Homepage

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on

Ask a Librarian!


Regular Library Hours

Monday through Thursday

8:00am to 7:00pm

Friday

8:00am to 4:30pm

Summer Library Hours

June 3 -  August 1

Monday through Thursday

8:00am to 4:30pm

Closed Friday

August 5 - August 16

Monday through Thursday

8:00am to 6:00pm

Friday

8:00am to 4:30pm

Library Closed

Wednesday June 19th

Thursday July 4th

Fridays in June and July