Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 152: Food and Health in America: Finding Articles & More

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Argumentative & Social Issues Papers

Starting Your Research

If your research assignment requires you to write about a current social or controversial issue, the following databases are a good place to start.

General Article Databases (for many topics)

When you need to do research beyond the starting points above, you can find full-text articles covering a wide range of topics below. Make sure to combine your terms with Boolean AND (to include all terms), or Boolean OR (to include any term). Be sure to view the videos provided to clarify database searching.

George Boole, Father of Boolean Algebra 1815-2015

George Boole, Mathematican and Father of Boolean Algebra

This is the 200th anniversary of his birth. Celebrations are planned at University College Cork, Ireland in honor of their former professor.

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)