Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEL 110: Geology of the National Parks: Finding Articles & More

A Guide to Good Sources

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Recommended Databases

These databases contain articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers:

These databases contain full-text articles from reference books:

Searching Databases

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles from journals and magazines.  To find specific information, enter the name of your park and the specific information you seek, such as:

Yosemite and (fauna or wildlife)

Grand Canyon and geology

Death Valley National Park and (flora or plants)

Check the full-text box to get complete articles rather than just abstracts.

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC.  Click on "What's my username or password?"  

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

keyword with magnifying glass over research

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Research Tip: If you were researching the topic "videogame violence" as discussed in the video above, you could also use a great and reliable site such as this: https://www.statista.com/topics/868/video-games/  (Video Game Industry: Statistics & Facts | Statista)

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

MCC Library

MCC Library Homepage

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on

Ask a Librarian!


Beginning Monday, November 16, 2020:

Remote Reference Hours (No Physical Access to Library)

Monday through Thursday, 8:00am to 6:00pm

Friday, 8:00am to 12:00pm

MCC Closed:

Thursday, December 24 through Friday, January 1 -- Holiday Recess