LibGuides: Nursing Research Guide: Finding Articles & More

Starting Point -- CINAHL and Health Source Nursing

The search box below will search the CINAHL and HealthSource/Nursing databases. When searching in our databases, make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms). Check out the video offerings on this page for a quick tutorial on Boolean operators, database searching and reading scientific articles.

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

MeSH - - Medical Subject Headings

Medline (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
from Library Journal: "The National Library of Medicine hosts this comprehensive health database, updated daily. It may be topic or keyword searched for fact sheets, journal articles, tutorials, and videos. Many items are available in Spanish. Includes links to current clinical trials."

Reading Scientific Articles

How to (Seriously) read a scientific paper | Science | AAAS

Health & Nursing Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Large database of articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, many in full-text, on a variety of topics.
Database Tutorial:
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals
Health Source Nursing/Academic (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Medline (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Contains little full-text.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Large database of articles in journals, magazines and newspapers on many subjects.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948
Peterson's Test and Career Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes NCLEX exam review books and practice tests.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
The LearningExpress suite of highly-acclaimed eLearning solutions provides interactive tutorials, practice tests, e-books, flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation, career development and more.

Complete List of Nursing & Allied Health Science Databases

Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)

Search terms for Evidence-Based Practice

Terminology:

Evidence-based Nursing (EBN)

Evidence-based Practice (EBP)

Nursing Research (NR)

Randomized controlled practice (RCT)

Quality Improvement (QI)

Suggested Database Search Terms:

Systematic reviews

Clinical studies

Literature reviews

Meta-analysis (meta-analyses)

Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)

Joshua Vossler's video "Selecting and Using Keywords"

Keywords and Database Searching

Use specific keywords, not questions.
Revise your keywords to see how that changes your results.
Look for more keywords in the articles you find.

Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)

Safeshare.tv link for Quick Tips & Shortcuts

Brainstorming for Keywords & Boolean Operators
Use this MCC Library worksheet to help you brainstorm keywords. Also contains information on using Boolean Operators to refine your search.

Print Journals

Strength and Conditioning Journal
Call Number: PERIODICALS
Library retains current 5 years.
Today's Dietitian
Call Number: PERIODICALS
Library retains current 5 years.

Denzel Washington Venn Diagram

Denzel Washington Venn Diagram

Nursing Research Guide: Finding Articles & More

Off-Campus Access to Databases